# SOUTH SHORE CHARTER PUBLIC SCHOOL

Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees

Minutes of the Special Board of Trustees meeting held on April 17, 2010 at 100 Longwater Circle, Norwell, MA. The purpose of this special meeting is to conduct the interviews for the four finalists for the position of Executive Director.

Notice of this meeting was sent to appropriate governmental agencies and press, and was published in the "South Shore Charter Public School Update".

#### **Trustees:**

**In attendance:** Jeffrey Seglin (Chair), Cheryl Peterson (Vice Chair), Bill Smyth (Clerk), Brian Tyler (Treasurer), Miriam Brownewall, Paul Carberry, Deb Cerilli, Bob Gass, Jo Loughnane, Michael Maniscalso, Maggie Reardon (Student), Mike Ryan, David Whitemyer

In absentia: Deidre Lamoureux, Emily Merwin (ex officio), Loran Sanborn (ex officio)

#### Also in attendance:

Staff: Prudence Goodale (Executive Director), Kristine Shipps (Business Manager), Ted Hirsch (K-6 Principal)Audience: Tessa Misiaszek (BOT nominee); Dee Delaney, Annette Golden

Authence: Tessa Wilsiaszek (BOT Hollinee), Dee Delaney, Almette Gor

Jeffrey Seglin (Chair) called the meeting to order at 8:00am.

The Chair distributed the questions that will be asked to each candidate. Brief discussion regarding the guidelines for the interviews. Reviewed the agenda and the process going forward.

- At 8:34am Marilee Cantalmo was introduced and the interview began.
- At 9:32am Sonia Diaz was introduced and the interview began.
- At 10:50am Alicia Savage was introduced and the interview began.
- At 11:50am Kathy Egmont was introduced and the interview began.

At 1:10pm the Chair asked the Audience for comments.

**MOTION:** B. Gass conduct the vote by ballot method by candidate. M. Brownewall seconded, motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION:** M. Brownewall to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing relative materials pertaining to candidates. It was moved and voted upon unanimous roll call, individual voice vote to enter Executive Session for the purpose of non-union contractual negotiation. The Board will reconvene in Open Session.

Reconvene into Open Session

#### **Board Discussion:**

Reviewed the written feedback compiled by the Faculty/Staff and Students after their focus group meetings. All groups had K. Egmont and A. Savage as top choices.

Each member of the Board was asked to voice their choice for Executive Director.

M. Brownewall	A. Savage
P. Carberry	A. Savage
D. Cerilli	A. Savage
B. Gass	A. Savage
J. Loughnane	A. Savage
M. Maniscalco	A. Savage
C. Peterson	A. Savage
M. Ryan	A. Savage
B. Smyth	A. Savage
D. Whitemyer	A. Savage

**MOTION**: M. Reardon to appoint Alicia Savage to the position of Executive Direction. J. Seglin, seconded, motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION:** B. Gass offer the Executive Director position to Alicia Savage pending contract negotiations. D. Whitemyer seconded, motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION:** D. Whitemyer to give Personnel Chair the authority to negotiate the contract and benefit package. B. Smyth seconded, motion carried unanimously.

MOTION: B. Smyth to adjourn. M. Brownewall seconded, motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 3:00pm

#### Executive Session Special Board Meeting Saturday, April 17, 2010

### $1^{st}$ Executive Session for the purpose of review of references:

Reviewed the references of all the candidates.

Strongest references were A. Savage and K. Egmont.

**MOTION**: B. Smyth to reconvene into Regular Session. It was moved and voted upon unanimous roll call, individual voice vote to reconvene regular session.

## $2^{nd}$ Executive Session for the purpose of non-union contract negotiations.

**MOTION:** D. Whitemyer to give Personnel Chair the authority to negotiate the contract and benefit package. B. Smyth seconded, motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION:** B. Smyth to reconvene into Regular Session. It was moved and voted upon unanimous roll call, individual voice vote to reconvene regular session.